Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Taking Tablespace Offline (Oracle 10G Database)
Taking Tablespace Offline [message #571369] Sat, 24 November 2012 23:21 Go to next message
raja_dba

Hi,

I am a newbie in DBA.

I have created an user named "Raja" with a default tablespace as "Raja_TBS" along with a datafile "rajadata.dbf".

I have taken the tablespace offline

SQL> alter tablespace raja_tbs offline;

Tablespace Altered.

If my understanding is correct, when I take a tablespace offline, which means I cannot read or write and the tablespace is currently unavailable for users.

Just wondering I am still able to create a table on the "Raja_TBS" while it is offline.

Could someone please throw some light?

Thanks,
Raja
Re: Taking Tablespace Offline [message #571370 is a reply to message #571369] Sat, 24 November 2012 23:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Please read and follow the forum guidelines, to enable us to help you:

http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/

>Just wondering I am still able to create a table on the "Raja_TBS" while it is offline.
It depends.
Re: Taking Tablespace Offline [message #571371 is a reply to message #571370] Sat, 24 November 2012 23:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
raja_dba

Swan,

I have gone through the link, Not sure if I am in an inappropriate section.

Raja
Re: Taking Tablespace Offline [message #571372 is a reply to message #571371] Sat, 24 November 2012 23:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
how can we reproduce what you report?
Re: Taking Tablespace Offline [message #571373 is a reply to message #571372] Sat, 24 November 2012 23:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
raja_dba

Do you mean a screenshot of my Sql*Plus Screen?
Re: Taking Tablespace Offline [message #571377 is a reply to message #571373] Sun, 25 November 2012 01:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator